Exploring the city

“… a fine way to capture a piece of the magic of a unique city. The drama, the charm and the beauty of Hong Kong is all here-just as is its breathless energy.” – Nury Vittachi, Hong Kong: The City of Dreams

Before I start the blog, I hope that everyone had a peaceful Holy Week and to greet everybody a Happy Easter! 🙂

Welcome to day 2 of our #HappyCampergoestoHK series! I’ll be sharing our experience exploring Times Square, Causeway Bay and Mongkok. 🙂

March 26, 2017

10:00 : Causeway Bay and Times Square

20170326_103154
Peaceful Causeway Bay on a Sunday

After a good night’s sleep, we arrived at Causeway Bay around 10am on a Sunday through the MTR from Tsim Sha Tsui. We didn’t expect that the shops were still closed because in Manila, malls usually open earlier especially on a weekend. Since we haven’t eaten, we went to a food court called “Food Republic” to have brunch.

I chose to have a Japanese Omu Rice with Curry Pork Cutlet. I forgot the exact price but I remember that it is around 60-65hkd/384-416php. I also brought my own water since it is a bit pricey here in HK.

2017-03-26-10-52-04

 I enjoyed eating my brunch! They curry was on point and the serving size was great! 🙂

11:00 : Hello, Times Square!

DSCF023320170326_113655

Times Square is known to be a major shopping district in Hong Kong Island, if you want to go shopping for luxury brands, this is the place to be. We just strolled here and went to the mall to window shop. Hahaha! 🙂

 14:00: Mongkok Street Market

When I was watching YouTube vlogs before our trip, majority of the places they’ve been going to was Mongkok street. Seeing those haul videos makes me and my sister extra excited to visit Mongkok. In our original itinerary, Day 2 is supposed to be in Ngong Ping..but because the cable car isn’t available, we decided to scrap the idea out and just visit it when we travel to HK again (I know we will!!!…*fingers crossed*).

DSCF0245

I am a skin-care and make-up junkie! When we stepped out the MTR station me and my sister got excited to start shopping because everything was there! From huge Bonjour, Colour Mix and Sasa stores to the big names in the beauty industry is there!! It’s like every beauty girl’s dream come true! So because of our different agendas, the boys went to explore Mongkok on their own. And we ladies killed our time in exploring every store that interests us. :)) SLAYED IT!

After I think after 1 1/2 hours, KP called me and told me that they are done exploring the whole area, and I was like “Ang bilis nyo naman” then I realized we’ve been spending so much time at Bonjour that we didn’t get to explore much of the other stores. We’ve been literally in 1 store for almost 2 hours..haha! Kinain ng sistema! But anyway we agreed to meet on the other end of the street where the famed Mongkok street food can be found 🙂

***I’ll post a different entry for all the make-up and skin care products I bought…stay tuned for that! 🙂

16:00: Eat like a local 🙂

Aside from shopping, another popular thing to do here in Mongkok is to try their street food just like what they say, “eat like a local ;)” .

DSCF0241DSCF0242

One of the most recommended things to try are the Curry Balls, Grilled Octopus, Pig Intestines and their love it or hate it Stinky Tofu. *We tried all of the things listed here except for the Pigs Intestines.*

20170326_142600
Curry Balls

DSCF0256

DSCF0258
Grilled Octopus

DSCF0248

DSCF0259
Stinky Tofu
DSCF0249
Pig Intestines

Sadly I wasn’t able to try the Curry balls cause it’s spicy but they all said that it was way better than the original/plain. We all loved the Grilled Octopus and KP and I loved the Stinky Tofu. TBH, I was surprised that I was gonna like it. The smell for me is not as offensive as others may describe it but the flavor and texture of the tofu was really nice.

Next, while strolling around the block we found this store “Hot.com” I dunno if it’s the legit name but that the name on their poster. They sell fries and takoyaki.. and we’ve heard good reviews about it so we lined up and gave it a try!

KP and I ordered the Black Tobiko Takoyaki while my sister and Borbs had the Mayonnaise Takoyaki.

DSCF0266
Black Tobiko Takoyaki
20170326_144711
Mayonnaise Takoyaki

These were good but I’ve had better, my only concern was I think it is a bit under cooked. It didn’t have enough contrast of texture..the inside was super mushy. I also prefer the Black Tobiko than the Mayonnaise Takoyaki. 🙂

Of course after eating, we need something to drink! We walked across this milktea shop and there was a looooong queue and we decided to join in on the fun! haha! After I placed my order, that’s when I realized that we were at TenRen Milktea, which just opened a few months ago here in Manila. But, I am happy that I got to try it for the 1st time in HK.

DSCF0270
Oolong Milk Tea with pearls! 50% sugar 🙂

I didn’t enjoy the milktea that much because KP finished it before I had my decent share on it. So much for “hati tayo” :/

Mom also bought some bread from a local bakery for our breakfast the next day. 🙂

We went back to the hotel to rest for a while then we got ready for dinner! I am super excited that we will be eating in this restaurant! And I am gonna share that on my next blog post! 🙂

That’s it for our day 2 shopping adventure in Hong Kong! 🙂

“To my mind, the greatest reward and luxury of travel is to be able to experience everyday things as if for the first time, to be in a position in which almost nothing is so familiar it is taken for granted.” – Bill Bryson

XX

Leave a Reply

