Ichiran Ramen 一蘭

“I am not a Glutton- I am an explorer of food.” -Erma Bombeck

When I made our itinerary, I made it a point to go to Ichiran. I’ve heard plenty of good reviews and I am curious to see what the hype is about!I have always been a big ramen lover. And of course, for our 2nd night in HK which is also my birthday salubong, I chose to have dinner at Ichiran Ramen. 🙂  Welcome to the continuation of my previous post Exploring the city.

20:00 : Dinner at Ichiran 一蘭

Luckily, Ichiran HK has two branches.. one in Causeway Bay and in Tsim Sha Tsui. I observed from reviews and other blogs that the Causeway Bay branch is more crowded compared to the latter. That’s why we decided to go to the TST branch which is also walking distance from our hotel.

DSCF0289

Ichiran Tsim Sha Tsui: G/F & Shop B, Basement Floor, 8 Minden Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui

Ichiran Causeway Bay: Shop F-I, G/F, Lockhart House, Block A, 440 Jaffe Road, Causeway Bay

The ramen gods were in favor of our visit because we were early enough before the queue starts piling up. They have a common area but for first timers, they highly recommend eating in the booths to savor the full Ichiran experience.

DSCF0294
This is what the booth looks like
20170326_195859
my seatmates hihi! ❤

 The booth has everything you need from cups, chopsticks, tissue and your own tap water! But one of my main problem when I was planning our itinerary for Ichiran was, there wasn’t any clear menu to see how much it really costs.

DSCF0295
Menu/ Ordering sheet

From the picture ^ , they only sell one type of ramen, and the ordering system is similar to Ramen Nagi. I patterned my order to the suggested “medium/regular” flavor option since I don’t want to screw my order up.

2017-03-26-20-03-22
HEAVEEEEEN 

DSCF0297DSCF0300

I think the booths really made more special. Eating ramen immediately became intimate, wishing that every bite never ends. I love the broth but next time, I’ll have to go with the “strong” option.

My concerns are the noodles aren’t satisfying enough.. I guess they did that on purpose so that you’ll order another batch of noodles to add to the remaining precious broth. 2nd, the eggs wasn’t as soft-boiled as I prefer it to be, which was a little bit sad because I love how the creaminess of the yolk adds depth to the flavor of the soup. lastly, the sliced pork was too thin.

TBH, ramen servings here in the PH is way more generous than in Ichiran. But in terms of the broth, I prefer Ichiran compared to the Ramen chains available in Manila.

DSCF0301

2017-03-26-20-17-48
It’s my first time to finish a bowl of ramen!!

The service was also good, they were fast to act whenever we push the call button.

Our dinner costs 113hkd/head which is equivalent to 722php 🙂 yes it is a bit pricey but for me it was worth it! Now I understand why some people has to go eat at Ichiran whenever they are in Hong Kong (I am now one of them).

干杯! Discovering the world through food! 🙂

XX

 

Leave a Reply

